Three Netflix Originals I LOVED

I haven’t watched much TV during quarantine – and if I have, it’s mainly been reruns of the same shows I love (like Parks and Recreation, The Office, and New Girl.) I recently decided to be adventurous and explore the plethora of options Netflix has to offer! Over the last two weeks, I have binge watched three different Netflix Originals that I wanted to recommend if you’re looking for something to watch!

3. Never Have I Ever

Never Have I Ever...Been So Disappointed - Women's Republic

Never Have I Ever shares the story of Devi Vishwakumar, a 15-year-old living in Los Angeles. As her Sophomore year of high school begins, Devi desperately wants to rebrand herself, and her friends, as cool – especially after she spent the last half of her freshman year paralyzed, and after the recent loss of her Dad. Her miraculous recovery was due in part to her overwhelming crush on the hottest guy in school: Paxton Hall-Yoshida, with whom Devi wants to become ~friendly~ by the end of the year.

The characters are funny, the humor is relatable, and I especially love that the show is told from the perspective of an Indian-American family (a cultural representation you don’t see frequently in American television.)

Another aspect of this show I admire is how it explores the way different people deal with grief. In the set-up of the first episode, you learn that Devi’s Dad dies tragically at the end of her freshman year. While the show is upbeat and humorous and not a super sob-heavy drama, it realistically shows how it’s sometimes easier to ignore grief and focus on trivial things. It also explores how a family fights and learns to communicate when a major change shifts the family dynamic.

After a little research on Wikipedia, I discovered that the show is actually co-created by Mindy Kaling! Apparently, the show is loosely based on Mindy’s adolescence in Boston, and I think that makes a lot of sense in hindsight.

If you’re looking for an easy, 30-minute, comical show with a lot of heart, this is the show for you! There are 10 episodes, and it just released in April 2020 so it’s still pretty new! (And another season is officially coming – HECK YEA!)

Never Have I Ever Mindy Kaling GIF by NETFLIX - Find & Share on GIPHY
I know, Devi! Your show really is that good!

2. Dead to Me

Dead to Me | LezWatch.TV

Shifting to a dark comedy, written and scripted like a drama, Dead to Me is a subtle thriller with some powerhouse names. Christina Applegate plays Jen, a woman whose husband recently died in a hit-and-run accident. She develops a relationship with Judy, (played by Linda Cardellini,) who has recently been through a few losses of her own. The two women form a close relationship that continues to reveal more connections than the two women could have expected. Throw in Chris Pine as a spicy supporting actor, and you’ve got a great show full of twists and details that make it hard to stop watching!

Dead to Me is actually out of my wheelhouse. It’s not really scary, but it leans on the dark side from time to time, as is the reality of life. But the plot is crafted in an interesting way, and the continual clues piqued my curiosity. Plus, the incorporation of lighthearted music and beautiful shooting styles adds a nice contrast to the dark-ness of plot.

30+ Funny Dead To Me Memes Guaranteed To Shock Your Senses | GEEKS ...

There are currently two seasons of Dead to Me, and it will receive a third and final season soon! (Once you watch, you’ll understand – the third season will tie up a lot of loose ends.) I can’t say much more without spoiling anything – but if you like humor, mystery suspense, and Chris Pine, then add this to your watchlist.

PS – My brother will be so proud to know I included this show, because he suggested it to me and I ignored him for a while because our taste in shows isn’t usually similar. You win, Patrick!

1. Derry Girls

Derry Girls review: Netflix's madcap, irreverent comedy about five ...
Why are they posing like this? Guess you’ll have to watch to find out! (They are religious heroes, for starters…)

Derry. Girls.

I love this show!!! Derry Girls follows a group of five friends living in Londonderry, Northern Ireland as they navigate the challenges of trying to be normal amidst puberty, high school, family, and civil conflict.

Before watching Derry Girls, I recommend a quick internet search about the state of Ireland in the 1990s – specifically ‘The Troubles’. Essentially, there was conflict over whether or not Northern Island would remain part of the UK or join a united Ireland. There was a religious element to this conflict as well, as Catholics were generally more in favor of a united Ireland, while Protestants were generally more in favor of remaining in part of the UK. Derry was in Northern Ireland, where most of the unrest and conflict occurred.

The show isn’t militaristic, but knowing this information helps set the scene. The show is really more about teenagers attending their Catholic High School, getting Prom Dates, upstaging their pesky classmate Jenny Joyce, and dealing with their families.

Derry Girls GIFs | Tenor
Sister Michael is an underrated character.

This show is like a night in with friends. You will be able to relate someone you know to each friend in the group, and the ridiculous thought processes and eventual backfiring of the group’s actions are always lighthearted and fun. Not to mention, the show gives you a glimpse into living in another country – and the vernacular and family dynamics are slightly different than we might be used to, but extremely similar at the same time.

sister michael | Tumblr

There are currently two seasons, each with 6 episodes that are around half an hour long. I finished the show this morning and I am so sad that it’s over! I just looked and apparently the show did renew for a third season and was set to begin filming in June of 2020, so hopefully when production sets reopen a new season will be upon us soon!

Side note: I have been thinking with an Irish accent similar to the actors ever since I finished the show!


I need to be more adventurous with my TV show and movie watching! I often settle into my old favorites and don’t feel like finding new shows, but these three were what make ‘trying something new’ worth it!

What is your favorite Netflix original? Or if you don’t have Netflix, what is your current favorite TV show? I’m always looking for new suggestions!

1 thought on “Three Netflix Originals I LOVED

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close